Magnets: Myth or Medicine?

This past weekend was the annual arts and crafts fair in Hot Springs.  I hadn’t been able to go for the past two years for various reasons, so I was extremely excited to go with my Mom on Friday.  We didn’t have long (it seems like we always get there late) but we managed to find a few fun things.  One thing I didn’t think I would see was a huge yellow sign reading: Magnetic Therapy!  For back pain, migranes, carpal tunnel syndrome, arthritis, rheumatoid arthritis, fibromyalgia, restlessness, sinus problems…

Wait a minute…did that sign say rheumatoid arthritis?

Of course that caught my eye.  I had heard of magnetic therapy and was open to learning more about it and possibly trying it, if only for the sake of crossing another remedy off the list of possibilities.  The guy at the booth was wearing a magnet necklace, bracelet, and he said (although I didn’t see for myself) that he was wearing one on each ankle as well.  He handed my mom and I a pamphlet.  According to the pamphlet, magnetic therapy “works with the iron found in the hemoglobin of our blood.  Research tells us it acts as a catalyst to improve chemical reactions occurring in our body.  It aids in increased oxygen carrying capacity, blood circulation, and decreasing inflammation.”  It does go on to say that magnetic therapy itself in not a cure and should never replace treatment from qualified medical professionals.

I ended up getting a double stranded bracelet for my right wrist (my worst joint, generally, and also the first joint that was affected by RA).  The particular bracelet I got has  triple strength magnets, according to the man at the booth.  How am I supposed to know it’s anymore powerful than the others?  Well, I don’t.  So he very well could have been lying, but I was okay with taking that chance.

I was instructed to only take the bracelet off when showering or working on the computer, but at all other times to wear it, even when going to bed.  He told me that some people see a change in 24-72 hours, but to give it at least a week before writing it off completely.  He also said that if the bracelet was of no benefit to me that I could mail it back and receive a full refund.

When I first put it on it made my wrist feel funny. It felt like when I was a kid and I’d wear a bracelet while I rode my bike.  The vibrations from the handlebars made my arms and therefore the bracelet vibrate too.  It wasn’t painful at all, but maybe a little uncomfortable.  It didn’t last very long, though, and even when I take the bracelet off to shower that feeling doesn’t come back.

It is very difficult to get off, though.

It’s been a little over 48 hours so far and I’m not sure that I’ve seen any change so far.  I’m not giving up yet, though.  I’m committed to see this bracelet experiment through for at least a week, and I might go as far as to try two weeks.  I guess that’s because I really want it to work.  And if it does, I’m going to purchase a necklace, anklets, and another bracelet.  Lol!  I’m being sure not to get my hopes up, as I’ve had way too many let downs in the RA department.

But, as I said earlier, if anything this will be another RA remedy to cross off my list of things to try.  I’ll update in a week as to how the magnets have performed, and I’ll let you know if you should buy one or not.  :)

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Magnets: Myth or Medicine? « My Bum Thumb
  2. Cathy
    Oct 08, 2010 @ 18:04:32

    Cari, just keep in mind that frequently, it’s the psychological effect of ‘wanting’ something to work that actually improves your body. If you believe it works, then it probably will. The best non-medical thing I have found for me was learning meditation. Using my mind to focus on a flaring joint, I visualize the swelling going down and the fever accompanying it cooling off. De-stressing can never hurt, and as a busy college student I am sure you are STRESSED…

    Reply

    • Cari Elliott
      Oct 10, 2010 @ 19:55:18

      Well, it wouldn’t really matter to me if it were the psychological effects that were improving my health, as long as it improved. But apparently I didn’t have enough faith in this one, because it didn’t help. I am extremely stressed lol, but I’ve never been very successful at de-stressing. I practice Tai Chi when I feel up to standing for so long, but that only helps so much.

      Reply

  3. Cathy
    Oct 10, 2010 @ 23:45:23

    Magnets didn’t help me either. The guided imagery meditation still works after 25 yrs.

    Reply

  4. Cathy
    Oct 10, 2010 @ 23:46:51

    My mind, controlling my body… makes sense for me.

    Reply

  5. Tania
    May 20, 2014 @ 09:20:28

    I totally believe that magnetic bracelets fall in the same category as herbal remedies, homeopathy, raki (think that’s spelt right) aquipuncture, hypnosis to list a few, in that they have no scientific benefit, but convince the user that they will feel better for doing so, and feel better as a result. Which means I have to laugh at my friend who uses very expensive magnetic boots to help her horse’s arthritis, the horse has no idea that it is wearing magic magnets. The only reason I can think that she sees improvement in the horse is because she wants to see improvement and convinces herself that the horse was worse than it is, or the boots provide warmth and support, but that could be achieved with cheaper regular boots.

    Reply

  6. Free stuff
    Oct 05, 2014 @ 07:40:54

    I am really loving the theme/design of your website.
    Do you ever run into any browser compatibility issues?
    A couple of my blog visitors have complained about my blog not working correctly in Explorer but looks great
    in Chrome. Do you have any recommendations to help fix this
    problem?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

