Getting On My Nerves

Instead of sharing some of my experiences today, I’m asking you about yours.

In the four, almost five years I’ve had RA, it’s never effected any nerves.  A couple nights ago I was typing a lot, and my right wrist began to swell some.  I kept typing, and eventually I started to notice that the skin around my wrist and ulna bone was extremely sensitive.  I’m not quite sure how to describe it, really, because it wasn’t exactly painful but it wasn’t pleasant either.  It almost felt like a tingling sensation, but not.

My mom thought it was carpal tunnel at first, but after googling it I found out that carparl tunnel effects your palm and thumb more than anything.  Then I started to wonder if the swelling in my wrist had pinched a nerve.

It seems to be better today, although my wrist is still a little swollen and at times the sensation comes back.

Do any of you experience something similar?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stacey
    Sep 30, 2010 @ 19:01:36

    Cari, I get this quite a bit because my hands and wrists are so swollen. It almost feels hot and tingly, but not quite…yes hard to explain. I use carpal tunnel exercises to stretch everything and loosen things up. It can be painful on the joint if you do too much, but helps to relieve it also. I type 10 hours a day at work and there are times I cant even hold a pencil, so I know how you feel to a point and do anything I can to get them moving again. If it is too painful, I usually try and ice the area to take some of the swelling down and then do the stretches. I hope this helps. Love your blog, it has helped a lot because as you know, unless you have RA, it makes almost impossible to understand RA….

    Reply

  2. Cathy Prentice
    Oct 01, 2010 @ 00:16:46

    My hands and wrists act up when I have been doing a lot of tailoring. My most convenient remedy is leaving the supper dishes until morning…. the motion of washing them in the hot, soapy water loosens my hands and reduces the swelling… My all time favorite is my parafin spa though, but it takes awhile (2hrs or so) to melt the wax. The parafin gets turned on every afternoon in the winter…. since no one else uses it and I wash my hands thoroughly before I use it, I peel the wax back into the warmer. This makes it economical for me.

    Reply

    • Cari Elliott
      Oct 03, 2010 @ 21:26:38

      I really don’t have time to wash dishes by hand, and my hands are usually too weak to hold them up to wash them. So, for the most part, I just use the dishwasher. I LOVE paraffin wax though. My paraffin spa was my best friend when the seasons were changing from winter to spring. I’ll probably bringing it back out in a few days for the conversion to summer to fall (49 degrees at night and then 74 in the afternoon? It’s insanity!).

      Reply

  3. Cathy Prentice
    Oct 03, 2010 @ 22:41:32

    Cari, I had to trade in my stoneware for Corelle because of the weight…. I have a dishwasher, but where I live, the water is so mineralized my dishes never look clean….. plus on bad days, I cheat, we use styrofoam. Still leaves my pots & pans but does help some.

    Reply

  4. Mandi
    Sep 06, 2012 @ 14:44:34

    I just found your blog. I was searching for answers for my RA. It seems I have that painful skin, swelling in my lower legs and ankles. Just recently started. I have pain in my hands, wrists, elbows, even neck. I wondered if it was the swelling of the nerves in my ankles that was causing this new pain. I so do not like having this. thanks for your website!

    Reply

  5. kellyapaul
    Sep 19, 2012 @ 16:19:59

    Hi, I also have hand/wrist pain. A orthopaedic doctor that is in the same practice as my rhuemotologist said it is likely medial epichondilytis with some carpal tunnel. You can get a tennis elbow compression band (its a black band that velcros) and place it below your elbow a bit and put it on tightly and it somehow relieves some of the pain. Not a cure but helps when it is hurting. When my RA and wrists get REALLY unbearably bad, I take a round of medrol/steroids just for some relieft. Have done this four times since February. Not sure how it is affecting me in the long run but gives me some weeks of relief now and then.

    Reply

  6. kellyapaul
    Sep 19, 2012 @ 16:22:09

    Also, I find that showering in the morning with some hotter than I normally prefer water helps loosen up my hands/joints as well… haven’t tried the paraffin but we have some and I plan to. I was just diagnosed this year, have done 3 months of plaquinil and one week so far of methotrexate (2nd dose is tomorrow). Am enjoying your blog.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

